Watch the Food Tank via Livestream and join the conversation using hashtag: #FoodTank. Email questions to Questions@FoodTank.com. Please scroll down to see the full agenda.

Food Tank, in partnership with The George Washington (GW) University, is excited to present the 1st Annual Food Tank Summit at the Jack Morton Auditorium (former home of CNN’s Crossfire). This two-day event features more than 75 different speakers from the food and agriculture field. Researchers, farmers, chefs, policy makers, government officials, and students will come together panels on topics including; food waste, urban agriculture, family farmers, farm workers, and more.

Watch the entire Food Tank Summit free here on January 21st and 22nd. The livestream has been graciously donated by the Barilla Center for Food and Nutrition (BCFN). Please also join BCFN and Food Tank in taking action in support of the Milan Charter by clicking HERE.

Want us to do more events like these? Please Join Food Tank as a Member Today.

FOOD TANK SUMMIT PROGRAM (Download the Full Program HERE)

January 21st, Day One

8:30am Registration and Complimentary Breakfast

Breakfast courtesy of Panera Bread. Coffee courtesy of Equal Exchange

9:00 Welcome: President Steven Knapp, The George Washington University (GWU), @GWTweets

9:05 Welcome: Diane Robinson Knapp, GWU’s Urban Food Task Force, @GWfoodforce

9:10 Keynote and Opening: Kathleen Merrigan, GWU Sustainability Collaborative, @katmerrigan, @GWTweets

9:20 Danielle Nierenberg, Food Tank, @DaniNierenberg, @Food_Tank

9:30 Panel: Cultivating Better Urban Food Systems

Keynote: Mary Cheh, Washington, D.C. Council Member, Ward 3, @marycheh

Moderator: Dennis Dimick, National Geographic, @ddimick, @NatGeo

  1. Che Axum, University of the District of Columbia, @udc_edu

  2. Morgan Morris, Love and Carrots, @LoveNCarrotsDC

  3. Thomas Forster, EcoAgriculture Partners, @EcoAgPartners

  4. Ivy Ken, GWU Urban Sustainability, @GWTweets

  5. Helen Dombalis, National Farm to School Network, @FarmtoSchool

  6. Haley Burns, GWU Student, @GWTweets

  7. Tom Colicchio, Food Policy Action, @tomcolicchio

10:45 Break

11:00 Panel: Waste Not Want Not in the Food System

Keynote: Ben Simon, Food Recovery Network, @foodrecovery

Moderator: Daniel Reed, Planet Forward, @planet_forward

  1. Brian Lipinski, World Resources Institute, @WorldResources

  2. Jean Buzby, United States Department of Agriculture, @jbuzby, @USDA_ERS

  3. Mike Curtin, DC Central Kitchen, @mikecurtindcck, @dcck

  4. Patricia Beneke, U.N. Environment Programme, @uneprona

  5. Jordan Figueiredo, Feedback, @EndFoodWaste, @UglyFruitAndVeg

  6. Meghan Stasz, Grocery Manufacturers Association, @MStasz, @GroceryMakers

12:15pm Complimentary Lunch and Networking

Lunch courtesy of Panera Bread

1:00 Panel: Family Farmers Creating Resilience in the Food System

Keynote: Brian Halweil, Edible Manhattan, @brianhalweil, @EdibleManhattan

Moderator: Jane Black, Washington Post, @jane_black, @WaPoFood

  1. Coach Mark Smallwood, Rodale Institute, @rodaleinstitute

  2. Bernie Prince, FRESHFARM Markets, @freshfarmmktsdc

  3. Tom Pesek, International Fund for Agricultural Development, @tompesek, @IFADNews

  4. Chandler Goule, National Farmers Union, @NFUDC

  5. Kathy Ozer, National Family Farm Coalition, @FamilyFarmCo

  6. Eric Hansen, The National Young Farmers Coalition, @NYFCNYFC

2:15 Panel: Telling the Story of Food

Keynote: Frank Sesno, Planet Forward, @franksesno, @planet_forward

Moderator: Allison Aubrey, National Public Radio, @AubreyNPRFood, @NPRFood

  1. Roger Thurow, Chicago Council on Global Affairs, @rogerthurow, @ChicagoCouncil

  2. Sam Fromartz, Food and Environment Reporting Network, @fromartz, @FERNnews

  3. Vicki Robin, Author, Blessing the Hands That Feed Us, @vicki_robin

  4. Erik Hoffner, Orion Magazine, @erikhoffner, @Orion_magazine

  5. Diana Donlon, Center for Food Safety, @coolfoods, @truefoodnow

  6. Sarah Buzogany, Food Access Planner for the City of Baltimore

3:30 Break

3:45 Panel: The Business of Food

Keynote: Scott Davis, Panera Bread, @SDavisPnra, @panerabread

Moderator: Eliza Barclay, National Public Radio, @elizabarclay, @NPRFood

  1. Nora Pouillon, Restaurant Nora, @restaurantnora

  2. Brad Nelson, Marriott Hotels & Resorts, @chefnb, @Marriott

  3. Vicky Rateau, Oxfam America, @vrateau, @OxfamAmerica

  4. Paul Willis, Niman Ranch and Farmer, @PaulW1944, @Niman_Ranch

  5. Joshua Brau, Chipotle, @ChipotleTweets

5:00 End of Day Keynote: Chef Michel Nischan, Wholesome Wave, @michelnischan, @wholesomewave

5:10 Adjourn to Reception

 

January 22nd, Day Two

8:30am Complimentary Coffee

Coffee courtesy of Equal Exchange

9:10 Keynote: Saru Jayaraman, Restaurant Opportunities Centers (ROC)  United, @sarujayaraman, @ROCunited

9:20 Panel: Recognizing Workers in the Food System

Keynote: Liz Shuler, National AFL-CIO, @LizShuler, @AFLCIO

Moderator: Diane Brady, Bloomberg, @dianebrady, @Bloomberg

  1. Baldemar Velasquez, Farm Labor Organizing Committee, @SupportFLOC

  2. Jose Oliva, Food Chain Workers Alliance, @foodandlabor, @foodchainworker

  3. Melissa Perry, The George Washington University (GWU), @GWTweets

  4. Mia Dell, United Food and Commercial Workers, @UFCW

  5. Jeremiah Lowery, ROC United DC, @jeremiahlowery1, @ROCDC

  6. Patty Lovera, Food & Water Watch, @foodandwater

10:30  Break

10:45  Panel: Pushing for Better Agriculture Research and Policy

Keynote: Jerry Glover, United States Agency for International

Development, @jerry_d_glover, @USAID

Moderator: Allison Aubrey, National Public Radio, @AubreyNPRFood, @NPRFood

  1. Janet Larsen, Earth Policy Institute, @EarthPolicy

  2. Jahi Chappell, The Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy, @MJahi, @IATP

  3. Nabeeha Kazi, Humanitas Global, @humanitasglobal

  4. Pamela Hess, Arcadia Center for Sustainable Food & Agriculture, @ArcadiaFood

  5. Emily Broad Leib, Harvard Law School, @broademily, @HarvardFLPC

  6. Barbara Ekwall, U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization, @UNFAO

12:00 Lunch

Lunch courtesy of Chipotle, ShopHouseand SweetGreen

1:00  Panel: Pushing for International Agreements: The Milan Protocol 

Keynote: Luca Virginio, Barilla Center for Food & Nutrition Foundation, @BarillaCFN

Moderator: Joe DeCapua, Voice of America, @jdecapua, @VOA_News

  1. Richard McCarthy, Slow Food USA, @RichardSlowFood, @SlowFoodUSA

  2. Jonathan Bloom, Author, American Wasteland, @wastedfood

  3. Ellen Gustafson, Author, We the Eaters, @ellengustafson

  4. Laurie Benson, 1% for Women, @TossTheStone

  5. Kedar Mankad, ONE, @ONECampaign

2:15 Break

2:30 Panel: True Cost Accounting in the Food System

Keynote: Patrick Holden, Sustainable Food Trust, @SusFoodTrust

Moderator: Jason Huffman, Politico, @JsonHuffman, @politico, @morning_ag

  1. Pete Myers, Environmental Health Sciences, @petemyers, @EnvirHealthNews, @TheDailyClimate

  2. Jenn Yates, Union of Concerned Scientists, @JennUCS, @UCSUSA

  3. David Aylward, Ashoka, @AylwardDavid, @Ashoka

  4. Tom McDougall, 4P Foods, @4PFoods

  5. Paul Shapiro, The Humane Society of the United States, @pshapiro, @HumaneSociety

  6. John Buchanan, Conservation International, @ConservationOrg

3:45 Panel: Democratizing Innovation

Keynote: John Fisk, Wallace Center at Winrock International, @ngfn, @pastureproject

Moderator: Tim Carman, Washington Post, @timcarman, @WaPoFood

  1. Jill Isenbarger, Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture, @StoneBarns

  2. Doug Hertzler, ActionAid, @doug_hertzler, @actionaidusa

  3. Jessica Rosen, Forum for the Future, @feedjess, @Forum4theFuture, @forumfood

  4. Aaron McNevin, WWF, @WWFUS

  5. Steve Brescia, Groundswell International, @groundswellint

  6. Shen Tong, Food-X, @shentong, @foodXhealth

5:00 Ending Keynote: Congresswoman Chellie Pingree, @chelliepingree

5:10 Adjourn